University Square Food Court. Really?

I was surprised.

            When I had to kill some time before an office opened on East Campus Mall, I was forced into the University Square Food Court for warmth (next to Lucky Apartments on the corner of University Ave. and N. Murray St.). Now, when I think food court, I think gross, ugly, and overcrowded. Shockingly, this food court was spacious, and modern but comfortable. Large windows provide natural light and a view of students walking below. The color scheme is warm and inviting with splashes of green, orange, red and brown–reminding me of Echo Canyon in Colorado.

court colors like echo canyon

            A number of restaurants line the south side of the court (Quiznos Sub, Stir Fry 88, Nori Japan, and sbarro). The rest of the space is occupied by sections of wood, tile, and carpet flooring. There are dividing walls to break up some of the noise, flat screen TVs hanging with various facings, and a jumble of shiny black tables and green chairs.

            When you’re developing a setting for a story, the smell of fresh breadsticks, or the sizzle of a hot pan remind you to add sensory details. Because the court is one, open space with a high ceiling, voices travel and gather together as a humming sound. A problem I suffer through with smaller coffee shops is the conversation that gets too close to me and becomes a complete distraction. In this space, single voices are indistinct, drowned by the echoes of the masses.

            There’s a section in the middle of the room with comfy chairs. You can find outlets underneath some of the cushioned bench-seating that lines the wall, and there’s free wireless internet! And if I want a drink, I can head over to bubble island, bubble tea (also part of the food court). Hours are 11-11 Mon-Fri and 11-9 Sat & Sun.

            Surprisingly, I found this to be a good place to write!



Leave a comment